Skip to Content

SBL Fayette County Hospital

SBL Fayette County Hospital Honored for Excellence in Quality


Sarah Bush Lincoln Fayette County Hospital was recently recognized by the Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network (ICAHN) for its ongoing commitment to exceptional quality care.

As part of the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy Medicare Beneficiary Quality Improvement Program (FORHP), SBL Fayette County Hospital and other critical access hospitals were asked to voluntarily participate in four defined domains of quality outcomes. The four domains include Patient Safety/Inpatient; Patient Engagement; Care Transitions; and Outpatient Measures.

SBL Fayette County Hospital was recognized for being in the top 10 percent of all critical access hospitals in the country for care transitions quality measures.

“We’re very proud of our team for achieving this level of excellence in health quality,” SBL Fayette County Hospital CEO Karen Dyer said. “This is truly a team effort that recognizes our dedication to delivering a healthcare experience of which our patients and staff can be proud.”

ICAHN Flex Grant Project Manager Laura Fischer said, “Often, in rural hospitals, having a devoted staff member to abstract and submit this data can be both time consuming and burdensome. This hospital realizes how important quality of care and an engaging staff is for its patients. From its top leadership on throughout the facility, each strives for continued quality on a daily basis, and that is what we are celebrating.”

The Medicare Beneficiary Quality Improvement Program began in 2011 as a way for critical access hospitals to demonstrate the quality of care that they provide. This program has continued to evolve, adding new measures and removing outdated ones. In 2016, the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy deemed it necessary for critical access hospitals to participate in at least one measure of one domain to receive Flex funding opportunities. Each year, FORHP has increased the level at which the hospital must participate to remain Flex-fund eligible.

The Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network is a network of 58 small rural hospitals dedicated to strengthening the operations of its member hospitals through collaboration. The organization is composed of Illinois hospitals that have earned critical access hospital designation by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services. ICAHN is recognized nationally for its work with rural healthcare and administers several state, federal and private healthcare programs.

December 30, 2022